Life in Lockdown: Lucy, October 2020


This post originally appeared on the All Wales People First blog.


How am I feeling today? Feeling better than I was on Monday. I can feel that my anxiety is getting worse though with the second lock down coming up. I’ve been glad to have some time with my boyfriend in between the lockdowns.


It looks like I’m going to have to deal with a lockdown hairstyle for a few weeks because I didn’t get around to getting an appointment before we lock down this Friday.


It’s not all doom and gloom though. Since the last lockdown I’ve got two new jobs. One is as a Learning Disability Champion with Pembrokeshire County Council, and the other as a Photography Project Assistant with All Wales People First. I do both jobs part time.


I’ve also taken part in the VC Gallery’s Virtual Brightside workshops too. They are online creative workshops. The workshops usually happen on Wednesdays and Fridays.


Being busy with work and activities helps to keep my mind focussed away from anxieties. I’ve also found that walking the coastal path and taking photos helps. It’s been nice walking and taking photographs with my boyfriend over the last two weeks, and I will miss his company so much when we go back into lockdown.


It’s my birthday during this lockdown, so my boyfriend and I are having an early celebration meal with my sister this evening. We’re off for fish and chips at a local seaside town. I’m looking forward to the treat but feeling anxious about the two weekends ahead when I will feel lonely.


A friend has made a good suggestion to help with my loneliness and anxiety. She’s offered for me to dog sit on weekends for her. I’m really looking forward to the experience. I’m convinced it’s going to keep me focussed in a good way on weekends when I find harder to be on my own.


When you have a learning disability, I think it’s much more difficult to have a relationship where you can make choices for yourselves. When you have a learning disability, care providers and parents even with the best of intentions can prevent us from making decisions for ourselves.